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1. Introduction. The Handbook For Interstate Claimstaking is a compilation of information 
from each State. It is designed as a uniform method for States to provide information 
concerning the statutory provisions of UI laws and procedural instructions for reference by agent 
States when accepting interstate claims and/or advising claimants. 

The Handbook is electronically maintained as Option 1 of the ICON Interstate Handbook 
application. Each State is responsible for maintaining current information in its section of the 
Handbook. When law changes occur, minimum or maximum benefit amounts change, an 
extended benefits period triggers, etc., the State agency should immediately update and transmit 
the appropriate information in accordance with the instruction provided in the ICON User 
Guide. 

2. Format. Each State’s section of the Handbook is organized and electronically accessed under 
the State’s Postal abbreviation and Options A, B, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9. The options 
alphabets or numbers identify the subject of the information to be maintained as follows: 

a. Option A - Address/Telephone. Provide the address to which interstate claims and 
related materials, combined wage claim materials, and appeal materials are to be mailed and the 
telephone numbers for State Agency use. Also, separately provide the liable office address and 
the telephone number that is to be given to the claimant. 

Liable States that have implemented remote initial claimstaking and/or electronic weeks claimed 
filing are to provide filing instructions and the appropriate telephone numbers immediately 
above the address of the liable office. These filing instructions and the liable office address 
should be on a separate page from other information to facilitate printing as a single page for 
distribution to the claimant. For example: 

=========================================== 

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING 

NOTICE TO CLAIMANT: Colorado accepts all claims for unemployment 
compensation by telephone. Services are provided in English and Spanish. To file 
a new or additional claim, reopen your claim, transfer your claim to the interstate 
program, file an appeal or speak to a claims specialist, call 1-800-388-5515, 
Monday thru Friday between the hours of 7:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. (Mountain 
Standard Time). 

Have the following information on hand when calling to file a new claim: Social 
Security Number; Name, address of work site and address of payroll office, if 
different, and dates of employment for each employer in the past 18 months; copy 
of DD214 if in Military during past 18 months; and Alien Registration number if 
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not a citizen or national of the U.S. Be prepared to make up a 4-digit personal ID 
number. 

You will be sent an information packet which explains eligibility requirements and 
how to file weekly claims. 

To use the automated system to file a weekly claim or inquire about your claim, 
telephone: 1-800-916-1010 (Monday - Friday 1:00AM - Midnight, Saturday -
1:00AM - 3:00PM, Sunday - 9:00AM - Midnight). 

Your liable office address is: 
Colorado Department of Employment and Training 

P.O. Box 1730 
Denver, CO 80201-8988 

FAX number is: (303) 866-6072 

Mail all Interstate materials to “Interstate Unit” and Combined Wage Claim materials to 
“Special Claims Unit” at the following address: 

Colorado Department of Employment and Training 
P.O. Box 1730 

Denver, CO 80201-1730 
Telephone No. (303) 866-6342 FAX No. (303) 866-6072 

Mail Appeals materials to: 
Colorado Department of Employment and Training 

Appeals Unit 
P.O. Box 8988 

Denver, CO 80201-8988 
Telephone No. (303) 866-6260 FAX No. (303) 866-6055 

b. Option B - Summary. This section contains a summary of some provisions of State 
law, State procedures and conditions existing in the liable State. Most of the information to be 
shown under “Info at a Glance” is self-explanatory. However, Item A.5, Illness-Disability, 
refers to a statutory provision of the UI law that provides for UI payments during periods of 
temporary illness or disability. If the State’s UI law contains such a provision, enter “yes” and 
explain under Option 6, Able, Available, Actively Seeking Work. Item 13, Bulletin Board has 
been added to allow States to provide necessary additional information, such as the 
identification of areas covered by a disaster declaration for DUA. 

Following is a layout of Summary Page(s) with examples of required information: 
A. INFO AT 

A GLANCE: 
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1. IBIQ Yes 7. Electronic Weeks Claimed-
2.	 Remote ICs A. Interstate Yes 

A. Agent Yes B. Intrastate Yes 
B.  Liable Yes 8. Waiting Period Yes 

3.	 Max  WBA $300 9. EB Period Ended - 7/11/98 or 
Began - 7/12/98 

4. Dependents Allowance No 10. Additional Benefit Yes* 
5. Illness-Disability No 11. DUA Yes** 
6. Effective Date Sunday 12. a. Employer Option I 

b. Protest Period R-7-C 

13. BULLETIN BOARD 
* Up to 26 weeks of AB are payable to individuals attending approved training. 
** Disaster Declaration effective 2/22/98 for Kit Carson and Weld Counties. 

B. 1.	 BASE PERIOD: First 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters immediately 
preceding the first day of the benefit year. 

2.	 BASE PERIOD CHANGE: First Sunday in the months of January, April, July and 
October. 

3. ALTERNATE BASE PERIOD: None 

C. 1. BENEFIT YEAR: 52-week period beginning with the effective date of claim. 

2. EFFECTIVE DATE: Sunday preceding the date of filing. 

3. VALID CLAIM: When monetarily eligible. 

D.	 WAGE QUALIFICATION: Base period wages equal to or greater than 1 ½ times the 
high quarter wages with total base period wages of at least $900 or total base period 
wages equal to or exceeding State’s average annual wage ($22,100 for 1998). 

REQUALIFYING REQUIREMENT FOR SUBSEQUENT BENEFIT YEAR: Earnings 
of at least 10 X WBA in employment covered under any State or Federal law since the 
effective date of prior claim. 

E. 1.	 WBA FOR TOTAL UNEMPLOYMENT: 
Minimum - $20 Maximum - $221 Effective 7/1/98 

2.	 DURATION: Flexible - The lesser of 26 X WBA or 1/3 of the total base period 
wages. 
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F. DEDUCTIBLE INCOME: 
1.	 Wages in excess of 1/4 of the WBA. 

Any retirement pay, pension or annuity wholly or partially financed by a base period 
employer. 

2. Social Security 

G.	 UNEMPLOYMENT, DEFINITION: Week of no work and no wages, or week of less 
than full-time work and wages of less than 1 ½ X WBA. 

c. Regular Pages. The regular pages section of the Handbook covers options 1 thru 9. 
The subject titles were established several years ago, with some sub-titles having been added by 
States as the program has changed. The format of the regular pages is an explanation of the 
provision governing the subject followed by procedural instructions. Following is an example 
of the layout with required information: 

1.	 a. BASE PERIOD: 1st four of the last 5 completed calendar quarters preceding the 
benefit year. 

Obtain complete employment history covering the current and preceding 
five calendar quarters. 

b. ALTERNATE BASE PERIOD: Last 4 four completed calendar quarters. 

Obtain employment history for current and preceding 5 calendar quarters for 
new claims. 

c. SPECIAL BASE PERIOD FOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION CASES: For 
any individual who received or was eligible to receive Workers Compensation, 
the base period is the first 4 of the last 5 quarters during which some work was 
performed prior to the benefit year providing that the last day of work was 
within 3 years of the effective date of the claim being filed. 

Obtain employment history for the last 5 calendar quarters during which 
some work was performed. 

2.	 a.  WAGE QUALIFICATION: Base period wages equal to or greater than 1 ½ 
times the high quarter wages with total base period wages of at least $900 or 
total base period wages equal to or exceeding State’s average annual wage 
($22,100 for 1998). WAGE FREEZE - If the claimant received temporary total 
disability and if a UI claim is filed within 24 months of the date of the disability, 
wages prior to disability are frozen for UI purposes. 

Obtain work history for the five completed quarters prior to the date of the 
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disability and thereafter. 

b.	 SUBSEQUENT BENEFIT YEAR: Subsequent to the effective date of the prior 
benefit year, the individual must have earnings of at least 10 X the WBA of the 
subsequent benefit year for employment covered under any State or Federal law. 

3.	 COMPUTATION OF WEEKLY BENEFIT: WBA is 1/26 of the individual’s high 
quarter wages subject to the maximum WBA limitation. The MBA is 26 X the WBA 
or 1/3 of base period wages, whichever is less. 

PARTIAL UNEMPLOYMENT: WBA is reduced by earnings with a base period 
employer dollar-for-dollar. When earnings are from a non-base period employer, the 
amount payable is the WBA minus earnings in excess of $60 or 30 percent of gross 
wages, whichever is greater. 

WEEKLY BENEFIT AMOUNT CHART 

HIGH QUARTER WAGES WBA 

$1000 - 1050 $40 

$1050 - 1150 $45 
Etc. 

4.	 COVERAGE: Employers with a payroll exceeding $1000 in current or preceding 
year. Coverage of city, county and State employers does not include elected officials. 

5.	 WAITING PERIOD: One unpaid week during the benefit year prior to the payment 
of benefits. 

6. ABLE TO AND AVAILABLE FOR WORK; ACTIVELY SEEKING WORK: 

Accepts Standard Interstate Policy on Active Search for Work. 

If claimant becomes ill or disabled after registering for work, the claimant is eligible 
for benefits if no suitable work is offered after the beginning of such illness or 
disability. 

Weeks claimed certifications filed under the illness/disability provision should 
be noted “filed under illness/disability provision”. The first such certification 
should be accompanied by a doctor’s certificate identifying the nature of the 
illness or disability, effective date of illness/disability, and expected duration. If 
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the claimant’s illness/disability prevented him/her from filing during the period 
of illness/disability, take backdated claim and submit with a doctor’s certificate. 

7. DISQUALIFICATION PERIODS: 

a.	 VOLUNTARILY LEAVING employment without good cause attributable to the 
employment, the claimant is disqualified until re-employed in covered 
employment with wages of 8 X the WBA or greater. Adjudicate all separations 
within 6 weeks prior to the effective date of the claim. 

b.	 DISCHARGE FOR MISCONDUCT connected with work, the claimant is 
disqualified until re-employed in covered employment with wages of 10 X 
WBA. 

c.	 FAILURE TO APPLY FOR OR ACCEPT SUITABLE WORK - the claimant is 
disqualified until re-employed in covered employment with wages of at least 6 X 
WBA. 

d.	 GROSS MISCONDUCT - the claimant is disqualified for 52 weeks from the 
date of occurrence and wage credits are cancelled. 

e.	 FRAUD IN CONNECTION WITH CLAIM - the claimant is disqualified for up 
to 52 weeks from the date of occurrence. 

f.	 LABOR DISPUTE - the claimant is disqualified for the duration of the labor 
dispute if he/she belongs to the class of workers participating in or financing the 
strike. 

8. APPEAL PERIOD: Ten (10) days from the date of the determination. 

9.	 FEDERAL-STATE EXTENDED UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION 
PROGRAMS: 

a.	 EXTENDED BENEFITS: Reminder - Only 2 weeks of EB are payable to an 
interstate claimant filing from a State not in an EB period. 

Obtain complete work history for 24 months prior to the effective date of 
the EB initial claim. Initial claims must be filed at the beginning of each 
quarter during the EB claim. 

b.	 STATE ADDITIONAL BENEFITS: AB is payable only to individuals separated 
from specified employing units located in counties with a total unemployment 
rate of 10 percent or an insured unemployment rate of 8 percent. Potentially 
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eligible claimants are notified when an employer is certified. The maximum 
amount payable is 13 X the WBA. The period of eligibility does not extend 
beyond the end of the benefit year. 

Obtain complete work history for the current and the 5 completed calendar 
quarters prior to the effective date of the AB initial claim. Identify initial 
claims as AB. 
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